Download app | Follow Us On :

Daily Current affairs

Read updated Current Affairs

Read current affairs in Hindi (Click here)

Read current affairs in English (Click here)

The Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu (Merger of Union Territories) Bill, 2019 was passed by Parliament.  The Bill provides for the merger of the Union Territories (UTs) of Dadra and Nagar Haveli, and Daman and Diu into a single UT.  The Bill makes consequential amendments including retaining the representation in Lok Sabha, the jurisdiction of the High Court of Bombay, and provisionally allotting all officials of the two UTs to the merged UT.

The merger of Union Territories Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu will come into effect on Sunday, January 26. 

On January 22, the Union Cabinet, chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi, gave its approval for designation of Daman as headquarters of Union Territory of Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu, making it the capital of the two merged UTs.

The country currently has nine Union territories after the creation of the UTs of Jammu and Kashmir, and Ladakh. However, with the merger of Daman and Diu, and Dadra and Nagar Haveli, the number of UTs will come down to eight.