Download app | Follow Us On :

Daily Current affairs

Read updated Current Affairs

Read current affairs in Hindi (Click here)

Read current affairs in English (Click here)

Ramon Magsaysay Award also known as the Nobel Award of Asian Continent.In the year 2019 this award is given to five individuals which includes India's most Influential journalist Ravish Kumar.Other recipient of this award includes Thailand’s Angkhana Neelapajit (human rights activist), Philippines’ Raymundo Pujante Cayabyab (musician), Myanmar’s Ko Swe Win (journalist), and South Korea’s Kim Jong-Ki, an activist working on violence and mental health issues in youth.

roman magsaysay 2019

About the Ramon Magsaysay Award

The Ramon Magsaysay award was established in April, 1957. This award was created to commemorate Ramon Magsaysay, the late president of Philippines. The Ramon Magsaysay Award is Asia’s premier prize and highest honour.The Award is presented in formal ceremonies in Manila, Philippines on August 31st, the birth anniversary of the much-esteemed Philippines President whose ideals inspired the Award’s creation. This award is given in 6 categories.

These categories are:

1. Government services (GS)

2. Public services (PS)

3. Community leadership(CL)

4. Journalism, literature & creative communication arts (JLCCA)

5. Peace and International Understanding (PIU)

6. Emergent leadership (EL)

From the year 2009, The Ramon Magsaysay award foundation has done away with the practice of awarding the award in the above six categories.