Download app | Follow Us On :

Daily Current affairs

Read updated Current Affairs

Read current affairs in Hindi (Click here)

Read current affairs in English (Click here)

Ram Nath Kovind was on 25th July 2017 elected as the 14th President of India becoming the first BJP leader and one with RSS background to occupy the Rashtrapati Bhawan. Chief Justice J.S. Khehar administered the oath of office to Kovind in the presence of outgoing President Pranab Mukherjee and Prime Minister Narendra Modi in Parliament's Central Hall.

Backed by 40 political parties, Kovind, 71, defeated the joint opposition candidate Meira Kumar in a straight fight by polling 65.65% votes with a vote value of 7,02,044. Kumar got the balance 34.35% votes with a value of 3,67,314.

Kovind will be sworn in as the 14th President of India on July 25 at a ceremony in Parliament. Chief Justice of India J S Khehar will administer the oath of office to Kovind.

Kovind received overwhelming support from across the country with his poll managers claiming to have secured 116 more votes than they had anticipated.

Of the total 4896 lawmakers eligible to cast their votes, 4851 exercised their franchise. Of these, Kovind polled 2930 votes against 1844 garnered by Kumar. As many as 77 votes were found to be invalid.

Kovind will be the second Dalit leader to occupy the top constitutional post after K R Narayanan.

The presidential election was seen as a battle of index for opposition unity as 18 parties had joined hands to take on the BJP-led NDA. It also brought out the faultlines in the opposition ranks as Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar broke ranks to vote in favour of Kovind.

Amid claims of cross-voting by the BJP, Congress leaders asserted that the opposition unity forged for the presidential election had stayed intact and Kumar had in fact polled more votes than expected in Rajasthan and Himachal Pradesh.

An analysis of the result showed that Kovind had benefited by cross-voting by Congress MLAs in Gujarat, Goa and Chhatisgarh. Kovind also managed to get more votes than anticipated in several states including Maharashtra, Tripura, West Bengal, Madhya Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh, Assam.